marital status — 既婚/独身

For a long time, I was “married.” First time I had to indicate my marital status after my husband passed, I was confused. There was no “widowed” status. So, I chose “single.”

“Single”, “married” and “divorced” are often choices, but “widowed” usually isn’t. We are left to create our identity after the fact. Keep “Mrs.” or change to “Ms.”? How about last name? Does the ring come off? It is not “us” anymore, rather “me.” What do I want? Do I have to decide? Is it up to me?

We all suffer from identity crisis from time to time. Can’t be helped. But, I am taking my time to figure this one out…

IMG_0536

 

独身か既婚かと聞かれれば、

独身になるわけです。

やはり社会の中の一人としての位置づけで、

自分を決めるんですよね。

自分が一体何者であるかと。

新しい位置に慣れていないもので、あたふたしています。

でも、これから少しずつ、時間をかけて、

自分一人の生活を作っていきたいと思います。

もう誰の事も気にしなくていいんですから。

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. livingonchi says:

    Yes, there’s a profound difference between single and widowed 😦

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave a message. ご意見、ご感想、お願いします。

