I won’t grow up!/こどものままで

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt:“All Grown Up.”

 

IMG_1256 - V2 signed

I don’t think I ever grew up.

Perhaps because I am childless.

Or, maybe I forever quest for freedom, resenting the past when I was put to be a responsible child, and rebelling against the concept of being the reliable one.

I don’t think I ever grow up, rather wish to grow and evolve constantly until I die.

I don’t think I ever want to grow up, albeit I should, must or need to.

 

 

未熟なままでいい。
大人になりすぎるのが怖いだけかもしれないけれど。
いつまでも新しい発見に喚起されたい。
我が儘だと咎められるかもしれないけれど。
純情さはとっくに失ったかもしれないけれど、
素直に自然を、人生を見ていたい。

 

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. livingonchi says:

    Great poem! Yay for growing and evolving constantly until we die! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Doug says:

    Not so much growing “up” as growning “out,” it happens in its own way for each.

    Like

  3. RIH says:

    I love the fresh perspective of seeing “grown up” as a process of growing and evolving, as opposed to an endpoint. Beautiful poem!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      Thank you for stopping by and commenting.

      Like

Please leave a message. ご意見、ご感想、お願いします。

