self-doubt

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Image Search.”

“Pick a random word and do Google image search on it. Check out the eleventh picture it brings up. Write about whatever that image brings to mind.”

 

“Did we shut the gas off?”
I asked my husband. We were on our way to somewhere, and were on the plane.
He just looked at me and said,
“What are you going to do? We are in the air.”

I am like that. Always doubting, self-doubting. Never can be sure of myself.
When a mishap happens, I instinctively think of what I did wrong. I apologize before defending myself or denying. I assume that I am in the wrong. I convince myself that I am content.
I am a spontaneous individual. I have done things that other people would not imagine doing, and, usually, do not regret. But, I still lack confidence. I look at self-assured people, even when they are in the wrong, with awe, and wish I could be like them. Confidence, any sort, even false confidence and bravado, gives people certain charisma and let them accomplish extraordinary things.

I was reading “How to write poetry” on Creative-Writing-Now.com and realized that my pieces on this blog had no rhyme scheme, no meter, and no form. I could not sleep, thinking that I have no talent and am not a good writer. I thought of quitting.

Self-Doubt
5 Steps to Deal with Self-Doubt and Trust Your Self Again tinybuddha.com

As this 11th image on Google search for “self-doubt” depicts, self-doubt prevents us from seeing the big picture. The quote they have right underneath this image is;

“When you doubt your power, you give power to your doubt.” ~Honore de Balzac.

If I stop writing and creating now, because I am not sure if I am good enough, then I will never know where it takes me or what is out there.
I am certainly having fun learning, creating and being inspired by other bloggers. It might be a good enough reason to keep going. So I convince myself.

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Teresa Oh says:

    Way to go girl! High five!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. livingonchi says:

    Not all great people are self-assured, so stay! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave a message. ご意見、ご感想、お願いします。

