training

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Proud.”

“When was the last time someone told you they were proud of you?”

IMG_4172

It was a six-week training. I had been in the country for only two years and barely spoke English. In schools at home, I was always in the top ten, but in this class, I was one of the oldest and one of few who did not go to college or university. And, they all spoke English. Most of the time, I felt humiliated and stupid.
I struggled through the process. Studying extra hard with my English-Japanese dictionary, I passed all the exams and was officially hired.

My husband was supportive of me the whole time. Every time I talked to him on the phone, he encouraged me. And, when I told him I passed another exam, he was happy with me.
A few years passed and when I earned some seniority at work, he confessed that he did not think my English was good enough to make through the initial training. He said that he was glad I did and that he was proud of me.

 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. livingonchi says:

    I totally agree with him, I’m proud of you too!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Raspberry says:

    the perseverance paid off. Proud of you, Nelkumi.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am proud of you, too, and proud to call you my friend. Never think you are stupid! You are so much smarter than you realize, and I know, from my own experience of taking a year of Japanese language in college, how difficult it is to go back and forth between Japanese and English. As for your not having attended university, it’s not necessarily the big deal you think it is. In the USA, college is mostly where kids go right out of high school in order to figure out what to do with their lives. Some professions require a degree, but most do not. I think a university is a good place to find out what interests you. Too bad it is getting so expensive to go! But whether you go or don’t go is no indication of how smart or capable you are. Lots of idiots out there with PhDs. I hope you WILL go to college someday just to prove to yourself that you can. How surprised you will be when you find out how easy it is!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Well done, I am proud of you. I am notoriously bad at languages, am in awe of those who are able to learn new languages 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sam Rappaz says:

    Always proud of you hon. Muah 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave a message. ご意見、ご感想、お願いします。

