3/11/2011

 

I was chatting with my husband on Internet when the walls and floor of the room shook violently with the creaking sound. Back and forth, side to side. Creak, creak, creak…
I was almost forced off from the chair I was sitting on and had to hold on the desk. It lasted long enough. My husband saw me being shaken around in a hotel room somewhere in Japan on his computer screen.
Once the jolt and the creak subsided, I told him that we had an earthquake, “goodbye” and “talk to you later.” I shut my computer off to get ready for a potential evacuation.
An announcement soon came on the speaker, advising us to stay in our rooms while the staff members were assessing. Not long after, another announcement followed. We are okay. The building was safe.
I jumped in the shower and put clean clothes on. Aftershocks kept happening; I did not know when the next big one would come, and was nervous.
TV was on in my room, and they showed where the epicenter was – about 300 miles from where I was and the tsunami warning along the eastern shore of Japan.
I was to catch a flight back to US that night, and the flight showed on time. By the time I got to the airport, however, the flight was delayed.
I called my husband as soon as I landed on US soil. He breathed a big sigh of relief.
I had been unaware of what happened since the terrible news was not yet available before we took off and had not called him thinking about the time difference. He, on the other hand, had been glued to the TV set, watching the horrific scenes from Japan, not knowing where exactly in Japan I was.
I saw what he had been watching, on a TV screen in the airline lounge while I waited for my connecting flight.
I felt weak at the knees and started to tremble then.

 

 

平成23年3月11日

あの日、私は仕事で名古屋にいた。
ちょうど、主人とインターネットで話している時に、ホテルの部屋の壁や床が大きく揺れた。
テレビをつけていたので、どこが震源地かも分かったし、津波情報も見ていた。
ただ、その晩詳しい災害状況を知らないまま日本を発って戻ってきたので、予定よりずいぶん遅れて着陸した時主人に電話すると、大げさに安堵されて驚いた。
航空会社のラウンジで乗り継ぎの便を待つ間に、ニュース番組で、あの画像を目にして、初めて恐くなった。

 

 

7 Comments Add yours

  1. livingonchi says:

    Oh my he must have been going crazy with worry!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I remember. This was so awful. It still is.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Celia says:

    I have many colleagues in Nagoya too and they told me how strong it was even down there. Glad you were able to catch your flight out and could be reunited with your husband! It must have been a huge relief for both of you.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Gradmama2011 says:

    Wow, scary even just reading about it. Somehow airports always make a story even more exciting or scary. Glad you’re ok.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. tu says:

    Kumi, I love reading your story.x

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave a message. ご意見、ご感想、お願いします。

