a feather

IMG_5837

I was driving up the hill to see some friends. All four windows were slightly open. The air was crisp. The sky was blue. It was a clear day.
I had long been asking for a sign. Any sign from you. You had been gone for months, and I hadn’t seen any sign of you, and wondered whether you would ever come back to see me.
When I stopped at the light, a tiny feather swirled and danced around the passenger seat. I did not know where it came from. From one of the open windows, perhaps?
Just when the light changed, and I started the car, it rested on the dashboard. It stayed there while I drove up the hill.
Once I arrived at the destination, however, the feather was not on the dashboard. Not on the seat or the floor. Not in the back. Nowhere to be seen.
I was puzzled, thought about it for a moment and smiled. I guess you wanted to make sure that I arrived safely.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Whoa!.”

“What’s the most surreal experience you’ve ever had?”

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Lovely. I believe in such things.

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave a message. ご意見、ご感想、お願いします。

