tramping the world

trips Collage

My husband and I used to travel a lot. Both of our jobs necessitated and, we were fortunate to take some trips for pleasure as well.

My husband was not exactly a plan-ahead kind of guy. So, I did the planning, deciding where to go, where to stay and what to see when we traveled together. I never had an itinerary. Just a way to get there, a list of recommended lodgings and sights, and some idea of how the culture might be. Except the time when we went to Russia. They required reservations of the hotel to issue the visa.

I remember, in South Africa, my husband was shocked when two black ladies walked out of the café as he walked in. A humble bright girl in Mexico, who was selling handkerchiefs that her mom and she embroidered. And, the view from the top of Ayers Rock. How insignificant I felt I was.

Traveling has constantly reminded me what I know and am familiar with are not the whole picture.

A spontaneous traveler, I always have been. As a traveler of the journey called “life,” I do my best to prepare and accept. Life is full of happenstance. I might plan in advance but like to take a chance.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “The Happy Wanderer.”
“What’s your travel style? Are you itinerary and schedule driven, needing to have every step mapped out in advance or are you content to arrive without a plan and let happenstance be your guide?”

3 Comments Add yours

  1. livingonchi says:

    Russia is a very different experience. We went to St. Petersburg and Hubby was accosted by street hoodlums who stole his wallet. He’s of Russian background so he forgave them in spite of the awful experience.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      I had to rescue my husband there, too! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’d like to hear that story.

        Like

Please leave a message. ご意見、ご感想、お願いします。

