moving on

 

David Letterman’s last show reminded me of the time when Johnny Carson did his last show. My new job had just moved us to L.A. We were both excited about our new life, had no clue where it would take us, and didn’t care. We were young, and everything looked new, possible and hopeful. We were too busy to linger and lose ourselves in thoughts at that time; busy with jobs, traveling, social gatherings and family obligations. We had places to go and people to meet.

That was twenty-three years ago.

I seem to linger and long for those moments – when I was a part of us. I seem to hover around the thoughts where I can be who I was when we were us.
And, of course, reality smirks and pulls me back.

Do I wish those moments never ended? I am not sure.
I know that they did end, and they are beautiful.
Memories stay a while and move away to make room for new ones. Our heads need memory space for new memories. We need to clear cache in our heads. But our hearts will remember. They are never forgotten.IMG_8726movon

So, I am not going to stick around. I will move on. Maybe, not at this moment. But, I will.

 

    In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Linger.”
“Tell us about times in which you linger — when you don’t want an event, or a day to end. What is it you love about these times? Why do you wish you could linger forever?”

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. keli471 says:

    Love it, not to mention finally another bllogger who remembers Johnny Carson!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      hahaha… 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. andysmerdon says:

    Great thoughts nicely expressed. I love the song Tom Waits did on the show, also about moving on and also looking back… I love him. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nKBFSU-LUw0

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Teresa says:

    Is that your drawing? It is haunting… speaks volumes…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. OnChi says:

    Blogging is a most amazing way to move on, I’ve discovered. Because you can keep your memories, but you can’t ignore the person you are today. That’s why I think I will never give up blogging. To keep the person that I am today moving forward.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      well said, sis.

      Liked by 1 person

Please leave a message. ご意見、ご感想、お願いします。

