as usual

I am a timid being and not exactly a calmly-rise-to-the-occasion-and-save-the-world kind. In a crisis, I just hope someone else with more knowledge and courage would take care of the situation.

When my husband caught on fire, I froze and stared at him. He had to put out a fire himself.
But, my old job required and trained us to respond to all kinds of crisis, and, from experiences, I have learned to deal with incidents.

calmwhtAt the store I worked, two ladies fainted within a matter of weeks. On both occasions, I made sure they were okay, quickly got some ice, wrapped in wet paper towels, placed at the back of their necks and made them feel better. They both walked away unharmed. I had done that so many times before and thought nothing of it until managers complimented me.

Most important thing to remember in crisis is, I think, to know when to withdraw. It is easy to be afflicted with the emotions and hubris.

One imminent crisis awaits me. Midlife crisis. I do not look forward to or know how to deal with that one. I don’t have the option to opt out, do I?

“Any idiot can face a crisis; it’s this day-to-day living that wears you out.”
~ Anton Chekhov

 

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “In a Crisis.”
“Honestly evaluate the way you respond to crisis situations. Are you happy with the way you react?”

4 Comments Add yours

  1. lifelessons says:

    You do have the option to avoid midlife crisis. I think many times a clarification of what we want next in our lives is branded midlife crisis when it could be called midlife clarity!!! https://grieflessons.wordpress.com/2015/06/15/crisis-reasoning/

    Liked by 2 people

  2. andysmerdon says:

    Midlife crisis – no way, mine was midlife enlightenment 🙂 Enjoy every minute you can

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Teresa says:

    On another note, your drawing is so pretty.. I really like it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave a message. ご意見、ご感想、お願いします。

