hiding behind silence

 

As I grew up in the culture of “the nail that sticks out gets hammered in,” I was taught to suppress, stay low and keep my head down. To this day, debate, dispute and confrontation intimidate and terrify me. I greatly admire people who stand up for themselves and others.

I understand some even get high on provoking other people. When someone voices an opinion that differs from what I think, I just obtain that information and their point of view, and never argue or try to explain my point. When someone tries to bully me, I usually try to diffuse or avoid. I remain at peace behind my silence.

I do believe that everyone should speak up to defend someone and yourself from physical and mental harm, though. I have never had to do it by myself, and it would be a big challenge for me to come out of my silence wall when the time comes. I still won’t be able to change other people. But, as Mr. Konosuke Matsushita, the founder of Panasonic said, “the nail that sticks out gets hammered in but the assertive one doesn’t.” Virtue always wins, right?

IMG_0944

「出る杭は打たれるが出すぎた杭は打たれない」~ 松下幸之助

卑下せずに謙虚に、思い上がらずに自信を持って。難しい。
でも、やはり、正義はいつも勝つのでしょうか。

 

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Break the Silence.”
“When was the last time you really wanted (or needed) to say something, but kept quiet? Write a post about what you should’ve said.”

10 Comments Add yours

  1. MLou says:

    When someone voices an opinion that differs from what you think it is best to just obtain that information and their point of view, and never argue or try to explain your point. I have found everyone is entitled to their opinion and no one is right or wrong. Most love to argue their point and I think….what’s the point..I believe what I believe and they believe theirs…it does not change who we are…maybe a different perspective can change our way of thinking but each circumstance is different. I don’t like to argue or confront or visa versa….but like you said….when it comes to physical or verbal abuse I will take a stand. Great Blog!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lifelessons says:

    Did you do this lovely illustration, Nelkumi? I think this blog is the way you speak out!! http://judydykstrabrown.com/2015/08/14/fantastic-finish-jnws-new-prompt-generator-and-latitude-schmatitude/

    Liked by 3 people

    1. nelkumi says:

      Thank you. Yes, I did the work.

      Liked by 3 people

      1. lifelessons says:

        I think I’ve commented on your drawings before. Hope you do more of them.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. nelkumi says:

        Thank you. I will.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I don’t like to see people getting bullied and abused — I think it is always appropriate to step up and defend them. But I don’t know why people bother to argue with one another. Is anyone ever convinced of anything that way? Here’s another saying: “You have not converted a man because you have silenced him.”

    Liked by 1 person

  4. andysmerdon says:

    The Buddha said :The fool thinks he has won a battle, when he bullies with harsh speech; but knowing how to be forbearing alone makes one victorious. Stay “at peace behind your silence”, Nelkumi 🙂 Love the painting.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Rina Macasaet says:

    You are courageous! And certainly not hiding behind silence now. Bravo!!

    Liked by 2 people

Please leave a message. ご意見、ご感想、お願いします。

