lost and found

 

It was Sunday. We were on a family outing to town. I was about 6 or 7, maybe 8 and was to follow my parents who held my younger sister and brother. I followed my dad. He was tall, and I could see his head among the crowds.

We headed to a department store. I remember walking into the store and feeling overwhelmed with the large crowd and the shiny merchandises. I kept sight of my dad when I looked briefly away to see what were on the shelves.

Farther we went, busier and more packed it became. I fell behind a bit, found my dad’s head and hurried. When I caught up, I reached to grab my dad’s hand.

The man who turned to see who was grabbing his hand, however, was not my dad.

I was stunned and then started to panic.

I came to a standstill in the middle of the moving crowd, looking frantically around for my family. There was no sight of them. No glimpse of my dad’s head. Not a single familiar face. I was lost. I felt scared, insecure, unsafe and vulnerable. Should I run? Scream? Can they hear me? I didn’t know what to do or where to go. I felt like crying.

It didn’t last long. My dad soon found me and took me to where the rest of the family was.

Four decades later, I am lost again and feel exactly same. This time, though, no one is looking for me.

IMG_1383

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Powerful… We all feel lost sometimes. Most everybody can relate. By the way, are you the artist of the painting? I think it is really good.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      Thank you. Yes, I did the painting.

      Like

      1. It’s a perfect painting for the piece. I hope you share more of your work!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. andysmerdon says:

    We’re all looking for you Nelkumi 🙂 I too hate the feeling of being lost.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      Thank you. I’m over here!!! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  3. lghoelson says:

    You will not stay lost long, with all the memories you have.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You feel lost, but your friends who love you have you always in sight.

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave a message. ご意見、ご感想、お願いします。

