at all costs

Failing. That’s my life.
I have been making mistakes and mediocre at everything all my life. Nobody expects me to succeed. I certainly don’t.

When I was a child, and my grandparents had guests at their house, I helped them serving tea or meal. One time, they had multiple guests in different rooms. We, my aunts and I, were busy preparing and delivering drinks, appetizer and actual meal. They were serving different food to each room. My aunt told me which dishes went to which room, and I had to make sure the right items were served to the right guests. I somehow ended up delivering the wrong dishes to the wrong room and ran out as I placed one plate in front of each guest. I looked at the rest of the guests waiting to be served and panicked. I excused myself and ran back to the kitchen. My aunt was able to come up with more dishes and I went back with them. After all were served, I hid behind the large chest that my grandparents had in their room and sighed. I thought about my mistake and how embarrassed I felt.

Without failures, I don’t think we would learn to be humble or compassionate. One thing that I am most afraid is to become a middle-aged woman who gives advice, who thinks she is special. I must not fail to avoid that.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Must Not Fail.”
“What is the one thing at which you are the most afraid of failing?”

14 Comments Add yours

  1. luckyjc007 says:

    Everyone makes mistakes…especially when they are nerveous. The important thing about mistakes is to make sure you learn from them.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. We learn from our failures and it drives us to succeed and if per chance our experience serves to help another person, then that is double success. That is the way I see it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      I like that … thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Your blog is a success and not at all mediocre.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Teresa says:

    Wow, how did you get to a swing so high up there 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Tracey Rains says:

    I like that you have pointed out the positive side of failure: that our failures teach us to be compassionate. I think sometimes we forget that when we are dwelling on failures. This was a very uplifting post. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      Thank you for reading and commenting.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. You are so right! Failing at giving advice is an important skill!

    Liked by 2 people

  7. carol1945 says:

    These mistakes in childhood are painful. I remember mine clearly. Without them, we might grow up to be arrogant.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Singledust says:

    you are special! middle aged or not, you have wisdom beyond years, wisdom form kindness taken for granted, let your spirit live my dear. today your words are the balm for my soul – your writing is very honest and warm

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      Thank you, thank you, thank you…. It means a lot to me.

      Liked by 1 person

Please leave a message. ご意見、ご感想、お願いします。

