to die, to sleep – human hubris

 

MADA82592

 

When new tumors were found in his lungs six months after the successful surgery, my husband immediately said “No” to more surgery and treatment. He wanted to live not prolong. It was his life and body, and he wanted to take control. When he finished talking, his doctor looked at me and asked if I was okay with his decision. My husband then looked at me. He hadn’t even thought about how his decision would or might affect me.
If it had been me who faced the decision making of my destiny, I wouldn’t have wanted to suffer either. I would choose the quality of life over the quantity.
I would do so as long as I am the only one that is concerned.

We usually have others around us to consider and choose to endure for them. They help us to push ourselves. They assure us with the comfort of not suffering alone and the sense of doing it for them and of being a good person. We live for others not for ourselves. If I were totally alone on this planet, I would not care whether I live or die.

We cheer heroes who save others’ lives and those who invent drugs to cure illness. And, we condemn GMO, corn syrup, asbestos, plastic and bombs as evils that kill us. I don’t know much, but it seems that overpopulation is a problem, causing hatred, wars, and self-destruction. I am just thinking that I don’t mind dying young if some of us must go. I don’t want to make other people sad, though. I simply want to enjoy life but don’t want to suffer from the side effects of diabetes and high cholesterol either. Then again, I don’t much care for Kale but eat it because it is good for me.

Dilemma, dilemma.

Life is confusing and getting me frustrated. Is it all right to binge on a doughnut?

 

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Too Soon?.”
“Can anything be funny, or are some things off limits?”

 

「病は気から」と言いますが、私は何事も気からだと思うんです。
やる気になれば大抵のことができたりしますし、反対に、「ああ、だめだ」と思ってしまうと普段は何でもなくできていることにつまずいたりしますから。大した発見でもないんですが。完璧でないことが私らしさなんだと、思うんです。

 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Mother Hen says:

    A doughnut is ok once and a while… (:

    Liked by 3 people

  2. luckyjc007 says:

    The key is probably moderation in anything you do or eat/drink. Why not try what you like as long as you don’t over do it.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Sarah Z says:

    I think the key to life lies in letting go…

    We prolong life but at what cost… it’s not just the economic cost, but the emotional toll.

    We just need to learn to say better goodbyes…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Raspberry says:

    After reading your post.. yes, a doughnut is fine. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. lghoelson says:

    The human body can except many changes in what we call ‘quality of life.’ As we get older many adjustments have automatically taken place. If we can find peace in ourselves we usually have peace with others. I will draw the line at morphine drip, let me go, slip away.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. aj vosse says:

    A doughnut is just what is needed while you ponder the imponderables… God bless and give you strength! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave a message. ご意見、ご感想、お願いします。

