tonight was the night

 

Why did this have to happen? To me? What did I ever do to deserve this?

I made sure I looked beautiful tonight. I went to the gym every day and ate no carb food for a month so that I could fit in the gorgeous red dress I picked out; Mom did my hair perfect; nails were painted; lip color matched the dress. When Tom saw me, I knew he liked what he saw. He smiled at me. And, and …

Pff … it doesn’t matter. It’s over. I’m doomed.

Who knew I would sweat that much dancing? Aghhh, I should’ve gotten the smudge proof mascara!

(107 words)

 

photo prompt provided by pixabay.com
photo prompt provided by pixabay.com

 

For Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers

photo-20151130054245898

 

 

16 Comments Add yours

  1. Tony Single says:

    God. This is so romantic and heartbreaking.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Do you think the sweating mascara ruined her date? LOL! I was going to say that was a mighty short date then I saw the paragraph about the mascara. Oh well, there’s more fish in the sea. Hahaha! Cute story!

    Like

    1. nelkumi says:

      Things we do for vanity… Oh well. Thank you for reading and commenting, PJ!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. c2avilez says:

    Oh, that’s terrible! Seems so likely to happen, though.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Susan Langer says:

    LOL. That’s what you get when you buy the cheap stuff. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Nicely done a good take on the image and yes the things we do for vanity…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      Thank you for taking your time to read and comment.

      Like

      1. You are most welcome..

        Liked by 1 person

  6. I say ditch him! Nice story.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      Thank you for reading and commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Deb says:

    Oh no! Racoon eyes, not a good look!! Yes waterproof mascara is a must when going dancing!! 😉 Fun read!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      Thank you for taking your time to read and comment! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Please leave a message. ご意見、ご感想、お願いします。

