unaccompanied

girlwithdeadflwr 2

 

I went to a lunch seminar, which my brokerage hosted.
I was the only single attendee. Others all came in pairs.

I used to be one of a pair. I now enter a place on my own and leave alone, and it does take some getting used to.
People don’t exactly know how to deal with a single person at gatherings either. They assume I have someone to talk to and consult with, leave me and don’t include me in their affairs.
I feel uncomfortable, unwanted, excluded and alone.

Holidays are approaching fast, and I’m hoping not to get invited to parties. Though I know I should go out and socialize, it is not easy for me to entertain myself in the crowd. Before I go in, I usually stop in front of the door and look in to see if I know someone or how busy people are. I then wonder if they even notice that I am here, outside.

 

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt; “The Outsiders
“Tell us about the experience of being outside, looking in — however you’d like to interpret that.”

 

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Ameena k.g says:

    Hey there, you have another singler here 🙋. And rightly said, it does take a fair amount of getting used to.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      Hope you are getting on alright. 😉

      Like

  2. andysmerdon says:

    I’d talk to you Nelkumi – the picture is great, the sentiment real… and my best wishes genuine 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      You are kind. Thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Jennifer says:

    It’s so nice to read that I’m not alone in not wanting to go to parties. It’s so much effort.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh, my dear. Not one of us is alone in this world. If I was in the same location as you I would definitely hang out with you at any occasion. No one is an island. I pray The Lord brings people into your circle who can be great friends and encourages toward your gifts in life. Many blessings, my friend.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I understand for I am in the same virtual boat of singles. Wish all such singles could meet and be a group who could be for one another in times of such needs!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Frances D says:

    Here in New York – which might as well be called Singles City – a lot of restaurants have Singles Tables – where all the singles can sit together and have conversations etc. Thank you for visiting my site. I love the little character in your photos: Little Nell 🙂

    Like

    1. nelkumi says:

      Thank you for taking your time to visit and comment!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I have been on all sides of this situation: a single, half of a happy couple, half of an unhappy couple, the one hosting the party. I can tell you there is a downside to each one of these states, though you might not think so. In your case, as a single, the means to resolve your feelings of isolation is to enter the event with real interest and friendliness towards the other people there — a genuine desire to get to know them. Watch how friendly dogs make friends, greeting people with unconcealed pleasure to have their company. You don’t have to go that far, but every one of us could learn something from the way happy dogs behave at the dog park. Another solution to your problem of feeling excluded is to be the one holding the event. Being half of a couple is a social crutch. If you are half of a happy couple, you never meet people at events as deeply as you would if you were there alone. And if you are half of an unhappy couple, that is the worst state of all, because you are really there alone, only no one, including yourself, knows it. Keep going to events, please. You are a lovely, smart, charming, funny, thoroughly delightful person, and if only you can let them see you for who you are, they will love you.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I totally understand you, I have been alone now for 37 years. No matter what others might say about you not being alone, at the end of the day, we still are going to sleep alone, wake up alone, eat alone and wonder if anyone really even thinks of us. Truly those who have others or who socialize do not understand the meaning of being alone. We cope, we endure, it is not an easy life for us at times, but we survive, sometimes we thrive and surprise even ourselves.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      Yes, we do. Thank you for dropping by and leaving your encouraging words.

      Like

Please leave a message. ご意見、ご感想、お願いします。

