A Christmas Story

christmas

I spent many Christmas Eves and Christmas mornings in a hotel room in somewhere U.S.A and watched the same movie. It didn’t matter where I was. I turned on TNT or TBS, and there was always the movie, “A Christmas Story” showing.
It has become my thing.
Even when I was at home, I insisted on watching the movie. My husband was puzzled.
“It’s not even your tradition.”
“No, I didn’t grow up like that. But, I just like the movie. How come you don’t like this movie? It’s your generation.”
“I can’t relate. My father wasn’t like that at all.”

It is my fourth Christmas without him. I have the movie on TV and realize that it is my childhood it reminds me of; a dedicated and selfless mother, a loving family and an awkward and simple world of a child.
I wonder if he is smirking seeing that I haven’t changed.

 

 

 

12 Comments Add yours

  1. hugs merry christmas <3<3

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      Hug back. ☺️

      Like

  2. Merry Christmas darling. He can smirk all he wants. You have moved on 😇 Hugs

    Like

  3. Riccardo says:

    Merry Christmas Nelkumi-san! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      Same to you, Riccardo-san! 😊

      Like

  4. We were probably watching it at the same time. 😉 Merry Christmas! G-uno

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      hahaha … Happy Holidays!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. You’ll put your eye out.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. andysmerdon says:

    🙂 you always manage to make me smile. Thanks for sharing nelkumi – P.S. I can’t relate to that movie either 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I am sure he is.

    PS – I love that movie too

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave a message. ご意見、ご感想、お願いします。

