quotes for a widow

IMG_2484

“…learn how to enter a room on her own and depart alone. … Even more difficult, she has to learn to ask for assistance without upsetting her delicate independent-dependent balance.”

When my husband passed away, the book, “Widow to Widow” by Genevieve Davis Ginsburg helped me understand and cope with what I was going through. When I felt confused, I often thought about this part of the book and reminded myself that I wasn’t alone and that it was okay not to be okay.

 

The third year of my widowhood, I was trying to focus on establishing “my life. I thought that I had to find the purpose, my identity, and the way I was supposed to take but couldn’t see.

“Life isn’t about finding yourself. Life is about creating yourself.”

This quote by George Bernard Shaw opened my eyes; I needed to build the road ahead.

 

I just started to go through our stuff in the house and throw away things. It took me more than three years, but I’m ready. I am ready to say goodbye and hello and am in search of a quote that guides me through to the next chapter.
Does anyone know a good one?

 

 In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Quote Me
“Do you have a favorite quote that you return to again and again? What is it, and why does it move you?”

 

 

12 Comments Add yours

  1. cynthiamvoss says:

    Best wishes to you and your journey.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. andysmerdon says:

    Hi nelkumi 🙂 I like a quote by George Washington which says “Liberty, when it begins to take root, is a plant of rapid growth”. I wish you peace and strength 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      I like that. Thank you.😊

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Wish I were there to keep you company for a time. I’d like to hear more about your new life.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. andy1076 says:

    I believe the initial quote says it all, Perfectly too. You’re very strong, be proud about that 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. granonine says:

    Today is the first day of the rest of your life. Old one, I know, but I think it applies 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      I like it very much. Thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. “I don’t know why you say goodbye, I say hello.” 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. smkelly8 says:

    Daniel Burnham’s quote “Make no little plans. They have no power to stir men’s (sic) blood.” Keeps me going. God bless.

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave a message. ご意見、ご感想、お願いします。

