blaze of glory

 

I move only my head and look in the direction of my daughter. She has been taking care of me while I have lain on a bed for the last few weeks.
As soon as she notices that I am awake, she moves closer.
“Hi … how are you feeling?”
Instead of answering, I close and open my eyes.
She smiles and gently touches the hair over my forehead.
I shift my hand to touch hers and look into her eyes.
“I’m ready.”
My words are muffled inside the oxygen mask.
“Mom…?”
“I don’t feel any pain. I’m ready.”
“… What are you saying, Mom…?”
“I love you. I’ve lived my life to the fullest and am ready to go.”
Her eyes widen, and soon tears start to fill them.
After we let her tears fall for a while, she stares me in the face.
“Thank you.”
I squeeze her hand and close my eyes.

 

(155 words)

photo-20160229092555202
photo prompt provided by pixabay.com

 

For Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers

photo-20151130054245898

 

10 Comments Add yours

  1. A very heart touching, beautiful piece and very sad. Wonderful story!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mandibelle16 says:

    Very sad, sorrowful piece. But I think you wrote it just right with a wonderful title. The Mom is ready and goes out in a blaze of glory. Well written.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      Thank you for reading it and commenting.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Rather sad, but at least she and her daughter got to say goodbye. Nice story.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      Thank you for the visit and comment.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. rogershipp says:

    This one is a true story…. Maybe not yours? It brought back many memories.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      Life… Thank you for taking the time to read and comment.

      Liked by 1 person

Please leave a message. ご意見、ご感想、お願いします。

