a softy

output_LFyeQz
Thanks to the technologies, I can now watch Japanese TV shows online. When I feel like crying (crying and laughing are great ways to release stress, I heard), I watch Japanese documentaries that are very sentimental.

The other day, I watched a documentary about what firefighting units had to go through five years ago in Japan.
As some of you might remember, they had a massive earthquake, tsunami, and, consequently, the nuclear plant explosion. The documentary focused on the firefighters. They were local volunteer fire brigade men and firefighters from faraway places and from the company that dealt with the damaged plant.
I cried seeing one man holding back his agony as he talked about how he found his wife and daughter under the rubbles while searching and rescuing other fellow villagers. I cried watching a man talking about his frustration and dilemma for not being able to do more. I cried when I heard a man saying that his life might end short because he worked near the leaking plant but he had to do it for the next generation to survive.
I cried a lot.

Recently, I am inclined to watch, see and hear what I once was familiar with – things and the culture that I grew up with, and easily cry. I am definitely getting old and sentimental. Well, I now have to cry a bit about that, too.

 

For The Daily Post’s writing prompt:Sentimental

 

感傷的だとはわかっていても、日本で起こった話を聞いて、ああ、日本で生まれ育ってよかったと思うことがある。他所にいる人々はともかく、日本で暮らしていても、その文化や考え方などを理解しない人もたくさんいるけれど。
五年前のこともその一つである。大震災の時、そしてその後、人々は、できることを必死でやった。何が正しいかを重視する文化の中で、自分の考えだけで動くのは厳しいし、難しい。思いやりや助け合いなどの考え方を根本に行動するしかなかったのではないだろうか。それを普段の生活の中で教えてくれるのは、住んでいる社会にある文化や考え方だと思う。

 

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. lifelessons says:

    It seems that tears are the appropriate response to what you describe, Nelkumi.

    Liked by 2 people

Please leave a message. ご意見、ご感想、お願いします。

