frivolous me

on

frivolousme 2

 

I think the first English word that came out of my mouth after I moved to the US was a swear word. People around me looked at me, then at my husband, as if it was his fault that I learned that word.

The second word was “bimbo”. I remembered my mother-in-law saying, “Thank God she is not a bimbo like others.”

Next came a sentence. It was either “It’s not my problem,” or “I don’t recall.”

Learning a language is not just learning the grammar and pronunciation. It comes with learning the culture as well. I have made many mistakes, keep doing so and humbly continue assimilating knowledge.

 

 

For The Daily Post’s daily prompt:Frivolous

 

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Hilarious and so very true! Learning a new language is such a challenge, and it can be imperative to learn it conversationally for incidents like this. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      Glad you enjoyed it. Thank you for taking the time to read and comment!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. cynthiamvoss says:

    Learning a language is definitely a challenge. In college, I had some free credits so I took a semester of Japanese. I felt I was doing really well in the class. One day, a Japanese girl in one of my other classes saw my notebook and giggled, saying that my hiragana looked like that of a child just learning how to write lolol. So much for me feeling like a boss in my new class! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      You WERE just learning! My husband used to say it isn’t fair that Japanese kids have to learn 50 characters.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. cynthiamvoss says:

        It’s amazing what kids can learn at a young age. I have some friends whose kids have been learning two languages from birth and that’s just so cool. I really liked studying Japanese, it felt like my brain was having to work in a different way.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Same here. Luckily, Italians… 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. haha thanks for an entertaining read!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      Thank you for the visit and comment!

      Liked by 1 person

Please leave a message. ご意見、ご感想、お願いします。

