conspicuous

 

I arrived at the place fifteen minutes early. The weather was nice enough, and I thought he too might show up early and decided to stay.
Right next to the two painted cow statues.
“They will be easy to find,” he had said. They were both gaily painted, and people stared at the cows and at me as they passed us. I started to feel self-conscious.
“Psst! Waiting for someone?”
I looked around to see who was talking, but people kept walking and nobody had stopped.
“Psst! Over here!”
I couldn’t trust my ears, but, surely, it was coming from one of the cows.
“Meeting someone here, are you? We are sort of landmark. We stand out, we know…”
I just stared at the cow that was talking to me, and its eyes even focused on mine.
“Is that him? We won’t interrupt, don’t worry.”
The other cow winked at me.
As I saw him running towards me smiling, I collapsed.
“Oh, honey, you are so happy to see me!”

(170 words)

photo-20160328032234526
photo prompt is provided by S. Writings

 

For Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers week of 03-29-2016

photo-20151130054245898

10 Comments Add yours

  1. maria says:

    Hahaha! If only he knew why she collapsed! 😀 Funny take!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. bikurgurl says:

    Nerves can get to even the best of us 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. XD
    I really loved this.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      Glad you liked it. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Hahaha! I would faint too if two statues started talking to me! LOL! Cute story!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You’d think she’d never talked to a cow statue before…just don’t understand some people.

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave a message. ご意見、ご感想、お願いします。

