answering machine

GQXD0558

When I got home, I noticed that someone had called the home phone. The caller ID showed a friend’s name. He left no message.

I have kept the same outgoing message on our answering machine for years. In it, my husband’s voice can be heard. I have called the home phone just to listen to his voice, and wonder how many of our friends have done the same, call just to hear him talk.

In the jungle, no appliance lasts more than a few years, and I’m afraid I might have to change the phone and lose him forever. For now, though, his voice speaks from the machine.

“I’m here…I’m always here…”

 

9 Comments Add yours

  1. cynthiamvoss says:

    For years my aunt did the same with my uncle’s voice. I liked hearing him when I called and left a message.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      It comforts me to hear his voice, even recorded one.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Vonita says:

    One of the thoughts that went through my mind after my mother passed was that I would never here her voice again.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      Thanks to the technologies, we now get to hear and see the departed.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. cwaugh212 says:

    No answering machine lasts longer than the fond memories. Hold them close.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. nelkumi says:

      I shall. Thank you.

      Like

  4. Angelina Hue says:

    Hello, I chanced upon your blog and saw this post – it’s brief, yet it says everything. I’m sorry for your loss.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      Thank you for the visit and kind words.

      Liked by 1 person

Please leave a message. ご意見、ご感想、お願いします。

