a healing wound

IMG_3348

I pick at the scab. It is on my right knee, just above the kneecap. I start slowly at the edge, then peel a bit more, and stop. Fresh blood oozes. The metallic smell wafts, intoxicating me.

I fell while I was walking the other day. Embarrassed, I immediately stood up, collected myself and walked away. I didn’t notice the sting and the bloodstain until I lay on the bed. Now, I can’t help but fester the scar. I know it’s not good to touch it. It won’t heal as fast or nicely. It is a reminder of my mistake, my incompleteness, my reality, and I can’t stop picking on it.

I place the scab back on the wound as if to cover with a lid. Unpleasant moments and bitter memories are healing. Little by little.

 

For The Daily Post’s daily prompt: ” Scars

7 Comments Add yours

  1. cwaugh212 says:

    When you can, let it out to someone you can trust. Don’t let the pressure build to high. It will all escape eventually.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      Thanks for the visit and comment.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. andysmerdon says:

    Nice 🙂 – I too have a tendency to pick at those scabs… just as they were healing. Why do we keep punishing ourselves…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      Have no clue why…😕

      Liked by 1 person

      1. andysmerdon says:

        hehe – neither do I 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Please leave a message. ご意見、ご感想、お願いします。

