sideshow

 

I am definitely not a trapeze performer. I possess neither athletic skill nor star quality.

I can’t be an animal handler. I am not assertive enough to control beasts.

I am a clown. Not a good one since I can not juggle or mime. I do, however, put a mask on and try my best to make people and myself laugh. Especially, when the going gets tough.

My husband always said that there is no comedy without victims. He also said that being able to laugh at yourself is a great gift. He admired real clowns.
IMG_3505

For The Daily Post’s daily prompt: ” Circus

12 Comments Add yours

  1. lifelessons says:

    In Shakespeare, the greatest wisdom was usually spoken by the clowns, or fools!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A clown is never worthless, and I guess bringing a smile to any one else’s face might be one of the best causes of all

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Belinda O says:

    You write such powerful things in such simple ways. What a gift! And your drawings are wonderful, too.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. nelkumi says:

      Oh, thank you. You are too kind. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  4. sandmanjazz says:

    To crib Blake’s 7 “A fool knows everything – and nothing”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      I like that!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. May you always play your own main stage.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I think your husband was right about comedy having victims.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. caillenjames says:

    Andre Berthiaume once said ‘we all wear masks…’ Lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      We certainly do…

      Like

Please leave a message. ご意見、ご感想、お願いします。

