a girl like me

What you looking at?

I’m not some freak show, you know.

Haven’t you ever seen one before?

A girl like me?

I’m different. I’m special. Yeah, yeah, yeah…

I don’t look like you. I don’t talk like you.

You can’t even look at me without feeling sorry, can you? You think you’re better than me. You’re prettier and smarter. You feel superior.

You’ll never know if I’m bright or happy ’cause you only see what you wanna see and care what you wanna care.

Nothing more.

 

(86 words)

 

photo-20160606053135735
photo prompt provided by phylor

 

For Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers week of 06-07-2016

 

 

17 Comments Add yours

  1. any1mark66 says:

    Hmm. Now I’m wondering if this is the girl like me or what happens to who messes with the girl like me. Nicely done

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      Better be safe… don’t mess. Thank you for the visit and comment.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Singledust says:

    she sounds like a feisty one, good on you for bringing girls like this to life!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      The statue reminded me of me!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Singledust says:

        i figured that might be so..good on you!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. The Voice says:

    I liked the first person voice in this. It carried a powerful message that really delivered an emotional punch. Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      Thank you so much!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I certainly have felt this way before as I suspect we all have. Great story!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      Thank you, PJ. I was in that mood.

      Like

      1. I sure understand! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Geo Sans says:

    boundaries
    firmly stated
    in words
    ~
    bravo

    Liked by 1 person

  6. andysmerdon says:

    I’d love to hear you shout this nelkumi 😉 I almost can. Nicely written.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      Hehe… 😝

      Liked by 1 person

  7. afairymind says:

    A powerful piece, Nelkumi. 🙂 People too often judge on outward appearances.

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave a message. ご意見、ご感想、お願いします。

