deserted

Can you see them?

Yes.

Where are they?

Over there, in the dark.

They are there now?

Yes.

Do they scare you?

No.

What do they do?

They make me laugh.

They do?

They think I’m scared of them. But, I’m not.

You are not?

No.

Do you know them?

Yes … my grandfather, dad…

Uh-huh…

Ghosts.

I see.

…I’m tired. Can I get some sleep now?

Sleep well. Sweet dreams. I’ll be here when you wake up.

 

(78 words)

 

PHOTO PROMPT © Janet Webb
PHOTO PROMPT © Janet Webb

 

For Friday Fictioneers 19 August 2016 and The Daily Post’s daily prompt, Ghost

 

12 Comments Add yours

  1. neilmacdon says:

    I liked the matter-of-fact tone of this

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      Thank you for taking your time to read and comment.

      Like

  2. lovely, great fun ! Anton

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      mwahahaha… thank you!

      Like

  3. This was wonderfully effective and gave such a full image and story in so few words. Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      Thank you so much!

      Like

  4. rgayer55 says:

    I see my Father in dreams sometimes. He is young, healthy, and has a witty sense of humor. He passed away 12 years ago shortly after his 95th birthday and a long bout with dementia. I very much look forward to those dreams.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      They might be gone. But, they are not. Thank you for the visit.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. gahlearner says:

    This is great, the conversation has such an unreal, dream-like feeling.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      Glad you felt that! Thank you for commenting.

      Like

  6. Was he speaking to a familiar ghost about family ghosts, I wonder!

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave a message. ご意見、ご感想、お願いします。

