a fly-by

The city looks beautiful from up here. I so wanted to come back to my city, the city I grew up, the land of the free and the home of the brave. I didn’t know when I would see it again since I was stationed in Hawaii.

I had just finished my breakfast when I heard the loud buzz. Someone yelled, “Jap!”
Then, the speaker screamed, “We are under attack! This is not a drill!”
And, I started to run…

Well, I must go now. I am to be honored with other fallen shipmates at the commemoration today.

PHOTO PTOMPT © Lucy Fridkin
PHOTO PTOMPT © Lucy Fridkin

For Friday Fictioneers -9 December 2016

 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. michael1148humphris says:

    The sky says it all, as does your story.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Belinda O says:

    Evocative commemoration.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Life Lessons of a Dog Lover says:

    Nice tribute to a horrifying moment in history.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      Thank you for the visit and comment.

      Like

  4. mandibelle16 says:

    Beautiful piece. Such nostalgia to it, despite he bad that happened. He is a ghost I think with his “fallen comrades.” But at least he’s a ghost in Hawaii,

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      It never gets too cold… 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Good story based on history, Nelkumi. Good writing. If you’re in India, I hope you and yours were far from the cyclone. —- Suzanne

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      Thank you for dropping by and for your concern. But I’m nowhere near India. Never been there! It’s on the list, though. 😄

      Like

Please leave a message. ご意見、ご感想、お願いします。

