drawing a picture

I am not an artist.
I cannot paint.
I cannot write.
I wander along the façade of fiction, between imagination and reality.
I can hide my pathetic true self behind the supposed fictitious pictures.
I try to draw a sunset, dawn, an afternoon sun reflecting off rain clouds, people walking, traffic light changing, cars slowing and turning, meals prepared, families talking, and lovers gazing.
And, me in somewhere.

Though I have no understanding of the language, no fancy skill, and no business creating anything, I must draw fake pictures and put my depictions out there to show myself that I exist.
As long as I am in the process of sculpting something, I can breathe. When I stop purging, that’s when I choke.
I have days – many days – that I don’t think I could make it.
I draw because I must keep living.

 

9 Comments Add yours

  1. and yet, Nelkumi, your profile cartoon picture of yourself exudes happiness, fun and above all the angle of your posture says “Welcome to my world”. And when we tiptoe in we are in a lovely place where all our troubles melt away. With a gift like that you can do anything for anyone and have no need of any other talents.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. nelkumi says:

      Wow, I’m speechless. Thank you so much for your support, kindness, and reassuring words!

      Like

  2. andysmerdon says:

    Anton has said it beautifully 🙂 Thanks nelkumi for making me smile, often.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. nelkumi says:

      Thank you for accompanying me on this unpredictable journey. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Teresa says:

    Simply love your painting/drawings.. I think you are a very talented artist. Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      Thank you. Happy New Year to you, too!😊

      Liked by 1 person

  4. brandonknoll says:

    I understand the part when you say you can’t live without art. If I was told I could never create again well then I rather not be here. Makes me the happiest person ever.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. brandonknoll says:

      Check my art out If you would like it’s on my blog. Thanks

      Liked by 1 person

      1. nelkumi says:

        Thank you for the visit and comment. Your artwork is awesome!

        Liked by 1 person

Please leave a message. ご意見、ご感想、お願いします。

