hotel heartache

“No, I have no luggage … will find my room fine. Thank you.”

She receives the key from the front desk clerk.

Taking the elevator up to her floor and walking to the end of the hallway, she finds the room. She inserts the key into the slot above the doorknob, hears the click, pushes open the door, slips inside, and closes the door behind her.

A bed in the middle of the room dominates the scenery. She moseys over to it and caresses the polyester cover with the tips of her fingers.

She lets out a sigh of relief.

At last…

The sun is going down and is painting the room amber. She lies down on the bed and hugs herself curling up in a fetal position.

What do I have? Nothing. Who will miss me? No one. Where do I need to go? Nowhere.

Soon, it will be over. She will reach the peace, the quiet, where no misery exists.

 

photo prompt by Sunday Fiction

For Sunday Photo Fiction – January 22nd 2017

 

19 Comments Add yours

  1. A very sad tale Nelkumi. Getting to that stage is

    Liked by 2 people

    1. nelkumi says:

      You know me, I can’t seem to bring a happy story! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I seemed to have caught the post comment button.

    I wad trying to say that getting to that stage of life is not good.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Iain Kelly says:

    A deeply sad tale of lonliness. Well written.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. nelkumi says:

      Thank you kindly.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Singledust says:

    She will reach the peace, the quiet, where no misery exists. – haunting line and so perfect. you described the sadness so well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      Thank you. I appreciate your kind words.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Dear Nelkkumi, unlike your other comment writers you really are starting to worry me. When my beloved Vietnamese wife was no more I came very close to taking my own life the loneliness was so awful. But people who would have been badly hurt if I had done so managed to give me back the will to carry on. You do that for me now, and for many more who have come to love reading your words and sharing your thoughts. Please contnue to give us that special friendship whiich we love and would be terribly sad if we lost it! Anton

    Liked by 3 people

    1. nelkumi says:

      Aww, Anton, I’m sorry to make you worry. I don’t think about taking my life, though I do get depressed. As long as I express what’s inside me, it goes away and doesn’t stay haunting me. Perhaps, I should write more cheerful ones and I will. You are helping me by being there. I do not wish to hurt you. 💕Thank you for caring.

      Liked by 3 people

      1. Riccardo says:

        Creating art helps me on dark days too. Hugs to you across the world, Nelkumi-san.

        Liked by 2 people

  6. thank you. You have taken a load off my mind and .i hope and pray your bouts of depression become fewer and you stay as happy as possible, Anton

    Liked by 2 people

    1. nelkumi says:

      Thank you kindly.

      Liked by 2 people

  7. andysmerdon says:

    At times a tempting escape – but always only tempting. Excellent writing nelkumi 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      Thank you. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  8. A perfect picture of someone suffering deep depression. Being alone, she’s her own worse enemy. It’s always so sad. Good writing, Nelkumi. —- Suzanne

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Mandibelle16 says:

    Sad one Nelkumi, I think she’s going to end it, or is sick and dying. Either way, I hope not!

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave a message. ご意見、ご感想、お願いします。

