memory lane

I hear cracking and crashing under my feet but can’t look down long enough to find out on what I’m stepping. I have to keep my eyes ahead to see where I’m going. Beads of sweat form on my forehead and trickle down on my cheek and neck.
I keep pushing my way through the thick damp foliage that absorbs the cry and dodging through the humid air that sucks every breath any living thing takes.

I know it’s around here somewhere.

There is no trail in the front or to the sides, and the jungle takes over and covers the path I just hacked. There is no way back, and I am starting to worry and wonder if it’s worth it.

I finally see a patch of shrub slightly sparse and stop. The sun casts a ray of light onto a rusty, dilapidated object.

Ah, there it is. That’s where I left my heart.

 

The photo prompt is provided by Tim Livingston with the blog, The ForesterArtist

 

For Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers – week of March 14th, 2017

 

19 Comments Add yours

  1. Something that is very beloved to her to go through all that foliage and growth to get there! Wonderful story!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      Thank you, PJ! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      Wow, thank you kindly.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. andysmerdon says:

    Oh yeah! Nice nelkumi 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      Thank you! 😊

      Like

  3. Now that she found it…what is it? 🙂 Makes you want to know more.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. rgayer55 says:

    I expected a photo of San Francisco. That’s where a lot of people leave their hearts. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      Indeed…. 😉

      Like

  5. Nelkumi, I wonder in life if we often give up before we reach our destination! Thank you for sharing your wonderful and heartfelt story of going after something cherished and finding it! Jan

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      Thank you for the visit and your beautiful words.

      Like

  6. where are you from….your heart is strong and full…keep sending messages and thoughts….very helpful….

    Liked by 1 person

  7. my son is marrying someone from Tokyo….i would venture to guess….you are from somewhere close….xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      I’ve been there! 😉

      Like

  8. Operating Systems says:

    I expected a photo of San Francisco.

    Like

Please leave a message. ご意見、ご感想、お願いします。

