eyes

He sniffs my mouth, and I pat his head. He pants, and I place the choke chain around his neck and grab the end of the leash.
“Let’s go.”
We stride out into the crisp air and cool mist, and our footsteps break the hush of early morning.
On our usual path, we slow down when he needs to and resume our pace and rhythm. There is no passerby. Everyone is inside.

We strut along until he stops short. He sniffs the air, then ground. His nose is busy, his ears taut, eyes focused. He marches further, pulling me.

Slow down!

I try to keep him from going into the woods. He keeps weaving and sticks his head in the bush as we proceed.

Something was or is here.
A wild pig? A feral cat? A mongoose?

I hear nothing except our breathing and shuffling.

I feel relieved to see the end of the trail and hurry.
Once we exit, he stops and looks back.
I also look back and see a thicket of woods fade in the fog.
“Let’s go.”
I jerk the leash, oblivious to those eyes watching us.

photo prompt copyright A Mixed Bag

For Sunday Photo Fiction – June 18th, 2017  and The Daily Post’s daily prompt, Relieved.

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. James says:

    If those eyes belong to a large avian predator, yes you’d better keep walking.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. andysmerdon says:

    Ha! This reminds me of my morning walks with Yopi (my dog) she sniffs everywhere and sometimes takes enough interest in a shadowy spot, to make me a little nervous. Nice nelkumi, enjoy your walks/runs 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      Thank you. We have gotten old and don’t run anymore! 😁

      Like

  3. That was creepy. I’m glad they were safe. It doesn’t seem like a good place to walk. Good writing, Nelkumi. —- Suzanne

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      Thank you. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Please leave a message. ご意見、ご感想、お願いします。

