a phone call away

 

She felt no one understood her or appreciated her. She had to do it. There was no other way.

She noticed the old pay phone on the wall and looked askance at it.

Could it change the course of history? If I talk to someone? Possibly.

She then realized that she couldn’t recall any number, all her contacts were on her cell phone, and she had left it at home so that nobody could find her.

 

PHOTO PROMPT © J Hardy Carroll

For Friday Fictioneers – 28 July 2017

23 Comments Add yours

  1. Varad says:

    Oops! The travails of too much dependence on technology. Well written, Nelkumi.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. yarnspinnerr says:

    A wonderfully pragmatic take. Great tale.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      Thank you kindly.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. granonine says:

    How ironic. Great job, Nelkumi 🙂

    Like

    1. nelkumi says:

      Thank you. 😊

      Like

  4. 911 lady — Call 911!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      Hope the phone works! 😆

      Like

  5. gahlearner says:

    Oh, this is so sad. I hope she survives whatever it is that’s going to change history.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      I hope so, too.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. pennygadd51 says:

    I like the way you analyse her reasons for leaving so succinctly. I suspect the inability to make that phone call will have her going home again!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      Home or…. Glad you liked it. Thank you for the visit and comment.

      Like

  7. Sight11 says:

    Why am I the only one who is thinking that the first three lines are important? Is she going to hurt herself? Or a bit far more imaginative…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      You’re not the only one….😉

      Liked by 1 person

  8. andysmerdon says:

    haha! I was only thinking the other day, that I used to remember everybody’s phone number, now my phone does that for me and I remember email addresses 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      I have to look up my own phone number! 😁

      Liked by 1 person

  9. daisymae2017 says:

    Haven’t seen one of those phones in years. Where did you find this one?

    Like

    1. nelkumi says:

      This is a photo prompt, as I credited, and I don’t know where it is. Sorry, I can’t help.

      Like

    1. nelkumi says:

      Thank you.😊

      Like

  10. It is sad, that she cannot make the call that can change the course of things! Or can she still? I hope she doesn’t go for it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      Important choices to make… Thank you for the visit and comment.

      Like

Please leave a message. ご意見、ご感想、お願いします。

