stereotype

 

My husband and I used to say that we were cheating.
I was married to an old guy without money, and his Japanese wife (me!) was anything but obedient and submissive.
We broke the mold.

Is being different same as being disobedient? If you do not follow the crowd, are you a rebel?
I am diffident and do not like to stand out and try my best to stay low key.
It seems, though, that I have always done things in my own way. I’m not one for reading manuals before I start.

I don’t know if I ever thought I was different. I think I always hoped that I was.
I still wish I were certifiably atypical and special, but, at this point, I take a peculiar old woman.

 

For The Daily Post’s daily prompt, Disobey and Peculiar .

たくさん愛して、いっぱい夢見るおばさんでいたい。

 

15 Comments Add yours

  1. granonine says:

    There is a difference in following your own path and deliberately disobeying rules that you are disobeying just because you want to. We all have our own ways of thinking and being. Nothing wrong with that. But my freedom ends at the end of your nose. To disobey rules that protect the freedom of others is not okay.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The crowd’s an idiot. Be who you are.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      I’m an idiot! Phew! Thank you for clearing that up! 😊

      Like

  3. andysmerdon says:

    hahaha! Love the sketch 🙂 Manuals are for people who can’t handle a challenge (or they are at best a last resort) 🙂 Maintain your individuality, you rebel 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      Bwahahaha… 😆

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Pauline Y says:

    If you’re not harming anyone, there’s nothing wrong with breaking the mould and being yourself

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      Hehe. Thank you.

      Like

  5. Nelkumi, you know I too went against the advice of my family and married a Vietnamese who was killed in the war with my daughter. I wasn’t disobedient just heartbroken. But I still love them both. I did nothing stupid or wrong I just had to work out how to get through the next 47 years, we’re both doing well, Anton

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nelkumi says:

      Thank you, Anton.

      Like

  6. dunelight says:

    Expecting women to be obedient is a slightly abusive social construct anyway.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Which means that Nelkumi, far from being “disobedient” and a “cheat,” is in fact a small quiet force for equal rights and treatment for women. A feminist, if you will. Brava!

      Liked by 1 person

    2. nelkumi says:

      I wouldn’t like it… 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Moulds were made to be broken! Good on you!

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave a message. ご意見、ご感想、お願いします。

